Lago de Yojoa

Lago de Yojoa is the biggest natural lake in Honduras, spanning an imposing 16 kilometers. Impressive mountains, waterfalls, and forests surround the lake. The environment is ripe with exotic animals scouring the region. These assets make the lake a nature lover’s paradise. It was a location I had high expectations for and it did not disappoint.

During my time at the lake, I stay at the D&D Brewery. It was a small little hotel/brewery that had a hostel feel to it. It was a very relaxing place with great food and drinks. People from around the world were there, making it a great place to make new friends and have enjoyable conversations. The brewery is also located near the lake along with several other attractions. It was an excellent place to stay and I would definitely recommend anyone going to Lago de Yojoa to stay there.

During my stay, I was able to visit the following places by the lake:

Los Naranjos Ecological & Archaeological Park:

The park is one of only four government protected archaeological sites in Honduras. It is a relatively small park, but has great nature trails throughout the park for walking. The trails run through beautiful forests and is a bird watchers paradise. It is also right by the lake and has a beautiful view of the lake.

Finca Paradise Coffee Plantation:

This coffee plantation is located a sort walking distance from D&D brewery. It is functioning coffee plantation that doubles a private nature reserve and conservation easement. Walking trails stretch throughout the plantation allowing access to its beauty. In the center of the plantation stands a hill, where on top you have a stunning view of the lake.

Pulhapanzak Waterfall:

This striking waterfall is only located about 15km away from the lake and D&D Brewery. The location offers several observation points above and below the falls, given great views and opportunities for you to snap a picture. The park located there offers several activities including zip lining over the falls or going behind the raging falls and into a small cave. I decided to go behind the falls, and boy was I in for a surprise. I thought we were just going to take some path behind the falls, but we straight up went spelunking. We went straight into the waterfall, with the raging water coming straight down onto us. You have to hold on to metal lines bolted into the rocks so you are not swept away. The experience also included jumping off cliffs into the water. Cliffs as high as 30-40ft. Having a 150ft waterfall crashing down upon me is an experience I will never forget!

Kayaking on Lake Yojoa:

On the final day at the lake, we rented kayaks and went out into the lake. The scenery on the lake was absolutely beautiful and jumping into the lake was nice and refreshing. Mountains and forest surround the lake, providing endless beautifully scenery. Traffic on the lake is relatively scarce, which gives the lake an even more majestic feel. Almost making it feel like you’re a couple hundred years back in time, but with a kayak haha.

During my stay at the lake, I celebrated bring in the New Year. Hondurans love their fireworks, and it seemed there was an endless supply on New Year’s Eve. These fireworks are a little bit different than the ones I am used to in the states. A lot of the fireworks in Honduras are more like dynamite, and would be illegal in the states. The constant blowing up of these dynamite like fireworks was exhilarating. Many Hondurans also have a tradition of bring in the New Year by the burning of a dummy. This tradition symbolizes the burning away or letting go of the regrets from the previous year. Celebrating New Year’s in a different country was a unique experience and spending it at the lake made the celebrations even more fun.

Overall my time at the lake was extremely enjoyable. I would definitely recommend it to travelers going to Honduras. I would say it is my favorite place I have visited in Honduras so far. Of all the activities I did, Pulhapanzak Waterfall and kayaking Lago de Yojoa were my favorite. There is still a lot more the lake has to offer that I wasn’t able to partake in and I would like one day to go back there again and continue to search4adventrue.

 


Leave a comment