Running in Latin America

I love running. There is a constant struggle and a joy in the journey towards constantly pushing yourself to go further and faster. A journey with your thoughts; a continual battle with the ever tempting desire to just take a little break. A journey with nature and a little retreat from the constant busyness and noise we consistently endure. I believe I learn a little more about myself each journey(run) I take.

While living in Honduras, I have been able to keep this passion going. The following is just a couple of tips and my observations while running here in Honduras. I believe these running observations can be attributed to other Latin American countries as their running environments are similar in my opinion. Here are five tips:

  1. Find the Right Route
    • One that is not too busy or too remote
    • Expect your route to be uneven and hilly
  2. Watch out for Animals
  3. Run Early
  4. Don’t be Surprised to get Catcalled
  5. Have Fun and Go Run a in a Race

1. FIND THE RIGHT ROUTE

First off, I am a long distance runner who hates running on treadmills. So my routes include trails, roads, and basically anywhere where I can run. So the first problem I encountered with my running here, was finding out where to run. It is hard to run a route that is too crowded and too dangerous to run a route that is too remote. Cars do not stop for pedestrians here, and running in a crowded area you are frequently required to stop to find openings to cross streets, etc. You also have to be very careful of your environment, as not to get hit by a car. Running a remote route is usually my favorite route to take, but can be dangerous in Latin America. There is a higher probability of being robed or worse running these routes. So my first task was finding a couple good routes in the middle, being not too crowded or too remote.

While searching for good routes I found that no matter where I ran, the terrain was relatively uneven. Whether running on paved streets, gravel roads, or quasi trails; the terrain was very uneven. The terrain contains pot holes, loose rocks, rumble, and eroded areas. You have to be very careful were you step as not to twist an ankle. This can sometimes affect your strides. The terrain can also be very hilly, as Latin America is a relatively mountainous region.

2. WATCH OUT FOR ANIMALS

One thing I quickly came to realize while running in Honduras, is you have to watch out for animals. Dogs are the biggest culprit, and they are everywhere. Most dogs are wild, and have no problem barking are chasing after you when you run by. However, most are very afraid of humans and if you make any threatening movement towards them they will usually run away. Luckily I have yet to been bitten by a dog (But now I just jinxed myself). Another animal to watch out for would be snakes, especially if you are running by water. I have come across them a few times, but only near water. So I stopped running neat water.

3. RUN EARLY

This is a big one. Run early and try your best to avoid the heat. It gets very hot here and quickly. But the thing that really gets to you is the humidity. So stay hydrated and go early in the morning.

4. DON’T BE SURPRISED TO GET CATCALLED

Occasionally when I go running, I get catcalled. This was a very surprising experience for me, because as a man I have never really been catcalled in the states. It is a very funny experience. Woman and men yell things to me from mi amor (my love), oye rubia (hey blonde), hey papi (hey daddy), guapo (handsome), and just random noises. I have been here almost 10 months and I am still not used to it. I believe I get it because I am one of the few blonde gringos in the area. In a weird way, it does also kind of make you feel good too.

5. HAVE FUN AND GO RUN IN A RACE

They are not common, but races are held every so often where I am currently living. They are very fun to partake in and I would definitely advise it to someone who has the chance to do it in Latin America. Most races aren’t super organized with few stations and routes being poorly described and marked, but they are very fun. In races I have partaken in, bystanders and racers alike participate in Zumba before the race starts. Also if a race says it is a marathon, it probably isn’t. I remember the first time someone asked me if I wanted to run a marathon, and during the race I realized it was only a 10k haha. They just say marathon, meaning that it is an official race. Instead typical race distances include 5k or 10k.


Overall, running in Latin America has been a real joy. Sure sometimes the logistics or the terrain can make it a little difficult, but the scenery is absolutely stunning. The vegetation is usually always green and you can often find great views. It is running season year round and when it comes to weather you really only have to watch out for rain, and even then it can be fun to run in the rain. Running here has only made me appreciate the journey of running even more. I hope one day you get the chance to experience the journey of running here in Central America too.


Leave a comment